Three

Photograph @ crossroad at Wellington Street and Cochrane Street, Central, Hong Kong

Photograph @ crossroad at Wellington Street and Cochrane Street, Central, Hong Kong

So today I went out with a little mission. I slowed down even more than before to really take in what was around me at that moment in time. I just went around the places I walk pass daily. But today, for the very 1st time, I made some small talks with different people at stores and tried to hear their story, what they want to say.

I must confess, it is really much easier if you are in a foreign place. You are genuinely curious about that place, the people there and you want to learn more about their culture. As a local in a local area, somehow I had to fight the resistance in killing the curiosity.

“why would you want to know more about it, when you think you already know it enough?”

There. I had to fight that thought constantly and tried to be as curious as any tourist who comes to visit Hong Kong. And after making small talks, the people don’t necessarily let you take portraits. –maybe, it’s because I am a local too or maybe it’s in the culture (or maybe I need to practice talking to strangers hahaha).

After having 4 rejections (Yes it hurts), I came across the crossroad between Wellington Street and Cochrane Street, there were people giving out flyers. The usual me would really just walk pass as quickly as possible and avoid them as fast as I can. This time, I slowed down, took a flyer and talked to the guy. And after our talk, he agreed to let me photograph him (Horray!!).

ps. Not the best light I think but it’s my very first portrait of stranger!! Hands up to that =)

2 thoughts on “Three

    • Hi Vigen!!!

      Nice to meet you and thanks for coming across my blog!!! It’s a little project that I am trying to do =)

      I love your blog btw!!! It’s interesting and has a wit~~ Loved it!!

      Keep in touch 🙂 Michelle

Leave a Reply

